Cannabis in Florida: Legal, But With Limits


Cannabis is a well-known plant with several applications and advantages. However, not all states in the United States have the same regulations regulating the possession and consumption of marijuana. In this post, we will look at the present legal status of cannabis in Florida and what you need know if you wish to consume it lawfully.

Florida lets people use medical marijuana.

The first thing you should know is that Florida has a program for people who need it to get medical marijuana. This means that if you have a certain medical condition, you can get a note from a qualified doctor and sign up with the Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) so that you can buy cannabis goods from approved dispensaries.

Some of the medical problems that fit are:

  • ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig’s,
  • cancer
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • AIDS and HIV
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • PTSD
  • A condition that can’t be cured that was identified by a doctor other than the qualified doctor who gave the physician certification.
  • Chronic pain that isn’t cancerous and is caused by a qualified medical condition
    Health problems similar to those listed above

In Florida, you must do the following to get medical marijuana:

  • You must live in Florida or visit there occasionally.
  • Be at least 18 years old (or have permission from a legal parent)
  • Have a medical issue that qualifies
  • Get a written certificate from a trained doctor.
  • Get an ID card from the Medical Marijuana Use Registry.
  • Pay an application fee of $75
  • Get a new card every year.

You can get medical marijuana products and use them at any of Florida’s over 450 dispensaries as long as you have your card. You can also order over the phone or online and have the goods sent to your home.

Florida does have some rules about how much and what kind of medical marijuana you can use, though. The OMMU says that at a time, you can only have four ounces of smokable weed and enough other cannabis goods to last seventy days. Also, you can’t use medical marijuana in public or in your car. You have to do it in private.

In Florida, Recreational Marijuana is Illegal

The second thing you should know is that recreational marijuana use is still prohibited in Florida. This implies that without a medical marijuana card, you are not permitted to possess, use, purchase, sell, or produce any amount of cannabis in the state.

The consequences for breaching Florida’s recreational marijuana legislation are severe and vary depending on the amount and purpose. Here are a couple such examples:

Cannabis in Florida: Legal, But With Limits

1.) Possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor infraction punishable by up to a year in prison, a $1000 fine, and driver’s license suspension.

2.) Possession of more than 20 grams of marijuana is a criminal charge punishable by up to five years in jail, a $5,000 fine, and a driver’s license suspension.

3.) The sale or transportation of marijuana weighing 20 grams or less is a misdemeanor infraction punishable by up to a year in jail, a $1000 fine, and the suspension of your driver’s license.

4.) Selling or delivering more than 20 grams of marijuana is a crime punishable by up to 15 years in jail, a $10,000 fine, and suspension of your driver’s license.

5.) Growing any amount of marijuana is a crime punishable by up to 15 years in jail, a $10,000 fine, and the suspension of your driver’s license.

6.) Trafficking in 25 pounds or more of marijuana is a criminal charge punishable by a statutory minimum penalty of three years in jail, a fine of up to $25,000, and driver’s license suspension.

7.) As you can see, Florida’s recreational marijuana regulations are severe and can have serious implications. As a result, using cannabis without a medical marijuana certificate in the state is not worth the danger.

In Florida, Certain Cities and Counties Have Decriminalized Marijuana

The third thing you should know is that in Florida, certain towns and counties have decriminalized the possession of small amounts of marijuana. This means that rather than arresting you and prosecuting you with a crime, they may issue you a civil ticket or a fine.

This does not, however, imply that marijuana is legal in those locations. It simply indicates that the local authorities have decided to impose a lighter penalty for minor violations. If you are caught with marijuana, the state law still applies, and you can be detained and punished by state or federal authorities.

Marijuana has been decriminalized in the following Florida cities and counties:

  • The county of Alachua
  • Broward County, Florida
  • Cocoa Beach, Florida
  • Beach in Hallandale
  • Key West, Florida
  • Beaches in Miami
  • County of Miami-Dade
  • Orlando
  • The county of Osceola
  • County of Palm Beach
  • New Port Richey
  • Sarasota
  • Tampa
  • County of Volusia
  • West Palm Beach

The amount of marijuana considered decriminalized and the punishment imposed differ by city and county. In Orlando, for example, possessing up to 20 grams of marijuana is punishable by a $100 fine for the first offense and a $200 fine or 15 hours of community service for the second violation.

In Miami-Dade County, possessing up to 20 grams of marijuana is punishable by a $100 fine or two days of community service. These are not, however, the only criteria that influence whether you will be arrested or cited for marijuana possession.

The officer’s judgment, the availability of other drugs or weapons, the location of the incident, and your criminal history may all have an impact on the result of your case.

As a result, unless you have a legitimate medical marijuana card, it is recommended to avoid owning or smoking marijuana in any amount in Florida.

The Future of Florida Cannabis Legalization is Uncertain

The fourth and final thing you need to know is that it’s not clear when weed will be legalized in Florida. There have been several efforts to make marijuana use legal in the state, but none of them have been successful so far.

The most recent attempt was Make It Legal Florida, a ballot measure that wanted to change the state constitution so that people 21 and older could have up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana on their person and use it. They could also grow up to six plants at home. The proposal did not get enough signatures, though, to be put on the 2022 vote.

manage Florida was another effort that failed to get enough signatures to be on the 2022 ballot. Its goal was to manage marijuana like alcohol and let people 21 and older have up to an ounce of marijuana, use it, and grow up to six plants at home.

This does not, however, mean that the fight to make weed legal in Florida is over. A lot of people are still trying to change the rules and the way people think about them in the state. A recent study found that 59% of Floridians want marijuana to be allowed for recreational use.

So, Florida might soon join the growing number of states that allow adults to use weed. For now, though, it’s important to follow the state’s current laws and rules about weed use and do so properly.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.