Brock Purdy among nine NFL-high San Francisco 49ers chosen to Pro Bowl


As the starting quarterbacks for their respective conferences, Brock Purdy and Tua Tagovailoa were named to their first Pro Bowls.

It’s the first time the two starting quarterbacks have been first-round picks since Peyton Manning and Kurt Warner were selected in 1999.

Carolina Panthers owner David Tepper stands on the sidelines as his team warms up for Sunday’s game against the Jacksonville Jaguars.

Purdy was one of nine players selected from the NFC champion San Francisco 49ers. Edge rusher Nick Bosa, defensive tackle Javon Hargrave, fullback Kyle Juszczyk, tight end George Kittle, running back Christian McCaffrey, cornerback Charvarius Ward, linebacker Fred Warner, and tackle Trent Williams were among others who joined him.

The 49ers (13-3) were the team with the most players chosen. Both Baltimore (13-3) and Dallas (11-5) had seven Pro Bowlers.

The Ravens selected quarterback Lamar Jackson, safety Kyle Hamilton, center Tyler Linderbaum, defensive tackle Justin Madubuike, linebackers Patrick Queen and Roquan Smith, and kicker Justin Tucker.

The Cowboys selected quarterback Dak Prescott, punter Bryan Anger, kicker Brandon Aubrey, cornerback DaRon Bland, wide receiver CeeDee Lamb, lineman Zack Martin, and edge rusher Micah Parsons, who can seal the NFC East title with a win on Sunday.

Brock Purdy among nine NFL-high San Francisco 49ers chosen to Pro Bowl

Aside from Purdy, other NFC first-year picks include Rams rookie receiver Puka Nacua, Lions rookie tight end Sam LaPorta, Eagles running back D’Andre Swift, Rams running back Kyren Williams, Lions edge rusher Aidan Hutchinson, Bears edge Montez Sweat, Bears cornerback Jaylon Johnson, Seahawks cornerback Devon Witherspoon, Falcons safety Jessie Bates, Seahawks safety Julian Love, Ward, Bland

Aside from Tagovailoa, other AFC first-year picks include Browns tight end David Njoku, Dolphins running back Raheem Mostert, Bills running back James Cook, Dolphins fullback Alec Ingold, Ravens center Tyler Lindenbaum, Madubuike, Queen, Hamilton, Broncos return specialist Marvin Mims, Steelers special teamer Miles Killebrew, and Jaguars long snapper Ross Matiscik.

The AFC’s third quarterback is Patrick Mahomes, while the NFC’s third quarterback is Matthew Stafford. Trent Williams will play in his 11th Pro Bowl, the most of any player chosen. Aaron Donald of the Los Angeles Rams was selected for the tenth time. Martin, Chiefs tight end Travis Kelce, and Seahawks linebacker Bobby Wagner have all been named to the Pro Bowl nine times. The eighth time is the charm for Juszczyk and Dolphins receiver Tyreek Hill.

There were 28 teams with at least one player chosen and 21 clubs with multiple players chosen.

The consensus votes of fans, players, and coaches were used to determine player selections, with each group’s vote accounting for one-third of the final rosters. The NFL is the only sports league that uses a combination of fan, coach, and player voting to choose its all-star teams.

For the first time in three years, the Pro Bowl will be held in Orlando. The Pro Bowl Games will return for the second year, with a multiday AFC vs NFC tournament that incorporates Pro Bowl Skills and culminates in a flag football contest. Peyton and Eli Manning will return as head coaches.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.