Walker County Political News

Shannon Whitfield has won the new job of Walker County Commission Chair.  He had 52 percent of the vote in yesterday’s Republican primary, defeating Matt Harris and Perry Lamb.
It was Whitfield 5,813
Harris 4,384
and Lamb, 968

SPLOST passed easily… 68 percent of voters said “yes” to a renewal of the penny sales tax in Walker County.

Dale Wilson held on to his Post 4 seat on the Walker County Board of Education, defeating challenger Lindsay Bradford by a 61 percent margin.

Complete but unofficial returns confirm that Jeff Mullis has retained his 53rd District seat in the Georgia Senate.
Mullis had 54.7 percent of the votes cast, for a clear win.
Former State Representative Colton Moore had 34.7 percent of the votes…
and Challenger Todd Noblitt gathered 10.6 percent.

The State House District One race may require a runoff… John Deffenbaugh is on top at 42 percent.  He’s followed by Mike Cameron with 38 percent of the vote.

The hotly-contested campaign for 14th District U.S. House also looks like a runoff.  Marjorie Greene came in first, at 41 percent of the vote.   John Cowan is in second place, at 20 percent.

And it appears there will be a runoff in one of the Republican races for Walker County Commission.  In district four, Robert Stultz had 35 percent of the vote, followed by Alan Painter with 23 percent.

Those with a clear win in the Republican Primary for seats on the new Walker County Commission are:
Robert Blakemore in District one,
Mark Askew in District two,
and Brian Hart, who was unopposed in the primary for District three.

wqch news