Primary Election Day, Tuesday, June 9

Tomorrow is Primary Election Day.  Please VOTE.  Your Vote Counts!

There are no Democrats with opposition.  County Commissioner Candidate Jimmy Holbrook, Board of Education Chair Eddie Elsberry and Coroner Earl Rainwater are all unopposed in the Democratic Primary.  Those who choose a Republican ballot will be choosing from Teresa Pope, Gary Woods and Derick Ekroat for Probate Judge and between incumbent Commissioner Jason Winters, Jeff Coley and Blake Elsberry for the county sole commissioner nomination.  Also, a board of education seat will be decided tomorrow as there is no Democratic challenger in November.  B.J. Montgomery and Chad Dodd are running for that seat.

Voting precincts are being combined due to COVD-19 social distancing requirements and the lack of enough poll workers.

The only three polling places that won’t be affected are the Summerville, Dirttown and Haywood Precincts.  Dirttown voters will be able to use the Gore Fire Hall because it is larger and voters can maintain social-distancing protocol.  Haywood Precinct voters will be voting at Ebeneezer Baptist Church.

Subligna voters will move from the Subligna Fire Hall to Subligna Baptist Church.

Seminole, Dirtseller, Coldwater and Lyerly will be voting at the Lyerly Elementary School Gym. Voters in Cloudland and Alpine will be voting at the Menlo Elementary School Gym.  Meanwhile voters from Teloga and Pennville and Trion will be voting at the Trion Middle School Gym.

Voting begins at 7 AM.  Be sure to bring a picture ID when you come to vote.