Big Changes In Chattooga County Political Arena in 2020

Big changes will be coming to Chattooga County in 2020 in the political arena.  2019 has seen four of the county’s incumbent constitutional officers state that they will not run for re-election as Democrats.  Chattooga County Sheriff Mark Schrader, Tax Commissioner Joy Hampton, Clerk of Courts Kim James and Magistrate Judge Tracy Maddux have all said they will not run as Democrats in the 2020 elections – but only Maddux has said that he will run as a Republican.

Probate Judge Jon Payne announced his retirement this year, saying that he will not seek another term in the office he has held for decades.  That has brought out three candidates – so far – who say that they are running for Probate Judge.  Local EMS worker Derek Ekroat announced this year that he would seek the 2019 Republican nomination for the position.  Probate Court employee Theresa Pope has also indicated that she will be running as a Republican for the position.  Holley Strawn-Gilleland also is planning to run.  It is not clear at this time if Ms. Strawn-Gilleland will be running on a partisan ticket or if she will attempt a run as an independent.

Chattooga County Coroner Earl Rainwater has indicated that he might not seek another term.

Republican School Board Chairman John Agnew will also be up for reelection this year.

Chattooga County Commissioner Jason Winters, who won two terms as a Democrat before switching to the Republican Party before the 2016 election, has not publicly stated if he will be seeking a fourth term as the county’s sole-commissioner.  Former Chattooga County School Superintendent Jimmy Lenderman has said that he is seriously entering the race for the Republican nomination for the sole-commissioner’s position.